Saari Development

Ali Rizvi's Technical Blog as a Professional Software Development Engineer

My .vimrc (updated 2006-02-10)

with 10 comments

” Ali Rizvi’s Vim Settings


set number
set shiftwidth=4

set ruler

set incsearch
set hlsearch
set textwidth=80

" from lindes:
syntax on
hi Comment term=bold ctermfg=Cyan guifg=Cyan
set listchars=tab:»·,trail:·,eol:¬
set autoindent

" from benji fisher to turn on the matchit plugin automatically and more
filetype plugin on

" explicity map file extension .t to perl syntax instead of tads
" which is autodetected by filetype plugin on
" This line should always be after filetype plugin
autocmd BufNewFile,BufRead *.t set syntax=perl

" to show real tabs and spaces in file
set list
set listchars=tab:»·,trail:^,eol:¬
"set listchars=tab:>-,trail:-

"to add spaces instead of tabs
set expandtab

" evil, bad! -- hard tabs should be 8 chars... --lindes
" set tabstop=4
" _but_ we can use this:
set smarttab

" show matching opening brace/paren when typing close
set showmatch

"use arrow keys to move to previous and next buffers
nmap <C-R> :bn<CR>
nmap <C-L> :bp<CR>


Written by imsaar

October 13, 2005 at 3:41 am

Posted in general

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Day Ali.I am searching for information on free software downloads when I came across your site. Although My .vimrc was’nt exactly what I was looking for it got my attention and made an interesting read. I was really after information relating to free software downloads. However I’m glad I stopped by – thanks for the read.

    Dave

    November 1, 2005 at 12:03 am

  2. Hi Ali. I was looking for some info on computer software and came across your site. Although My .vimrc was not what I was after exactly, it certainly got my interest. I see now that I found your page when I was looking for computer software related information. Even though it was not a perfect match I’m glad I stopped by. Good post – have a good day.

    Dave

    November 1, 2005 at 9:01 pm

  3. Hello Ali. I was looking for some information on educational software and came across your site. Not really what I was after but I found it very interesting. I was looking for educational software related information. Glad I found your site even though it was not exactly what I was after. Keep up the good posting – thanks

    Dave

    November 4, 2005 at 3:40 pm

  4. Hi Ali. I’ve been looking for mlm software information and came across your site. I was really after mlm software related info but I came across your site and found it a good posting even though My .vimrc was’nt exactly what I was after. Thanks for the read

    Dave

    November 8, 2005 at 9:48 pm

  5. Good Day Ali, I just did a search for make money at home and for some reason your site was highlighted! I have a real interest in My .vimrc and was hoping your site could lead me to more info. Unfortunately it did not have any sources for make money at home
    Thanks Anyway!
    PS: I really enjoyed your read even though it was not what I had anticipated.

    jimmy

    November 9, 2005 at 2:30 am

  6. Hello Ali, I was searching for some info on six figure income and stumbled across your blog. Even though My .vimrc was different than what I thought, it was different enough to get my attention. I really don’t understand how I got your page while looking for six figure income. Anywho I loved your blog and am very happy I stopped by. Thanks for the interesting read.

    jimmy

    November 9, 2005 at 9:27 am

  7. Hello Ali, I was searching for some info on personal development and stumbled across your blog. Even though My .vimrc was different than what I thought, it was different enough to get my attention. I really don’t understand how I got your page while looking for personal development. Anywho I loved your blog and am very happy I stopped by. Thanks for the interesting read.

    jimmy

    November 10, 2005 at 3:14 am

  8. Hello Ali, I was searching for some info on make money at home and stumbled across your blog. Even though My .vimrc was different than what I thought, it was different enough to get my attention. I really don’t understand how I got your page while looking for make money at home. Anywho I loved your blog and am very happy I stopped by. Thanks for the interesting read.

    jimmy

    November 10, 2005 at 11:45 pm

  9. Hi there Ali, I am very interested in make money at home. Your blog came to my attention by following some links for My .vimrc. I really think your blog is cool. Unfortunately it was not exactly relevant to make money at home. All in all I am glad I accidently came across your site. I am going to tell my friends about your blog. They are very interested in your subject.I am sure they will visit often. Thanks and make it a great day!

    jimmy

    November 11, 2005 at 6:04 am

  10. Hi Ali. I was looking for some info on computer software and came across your site. Although My .vimrc was not what I was after exactly, it certainly got my interest. I see now that I found your page when I was looking for computer software related information. Even though it was not a perfect match I’m glad I stopped by. Good post – have a good day.

    Dave

    November 16, 2005 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

