Saari Development

Ali Rizvi's Technical Blog as a Professional Software Development Engineer

Mac OSX : Reading Application Preference on Command Line

leave a comment »

I forget this often and find it useful at times to see the contents of my preference file. One mistake I often make is not to remove the file extension (.plist).

defaults read /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow

I am not a big fan of forums but this detailed entry helped me:
How to view plist files?

The main reason I was doing this was to keep preferences on my two laptops in sync and wanted to make sure to see if this is the right directory to SugarSync.

Written by imsaar

January 30, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Posted in configuration, macosx, shell

Leave a Reply

