Saari Development

Ali Rizvi's Technical Blog as a Professional Software Development Engineer

How I got Flash working on Kindle Fire HD 8.9″?

with 11 comments

The Amazon Customer Experience was not very eloquent about flash being not supported anymore and wasted my time.

I ended up on some good Amazon customer forums entries that helped me, here is the best forum entry I found.

Here are the steps to get Flash working on your Kindle Fire HD 8.9″:

  1. Download ES File Explorer from Amazon App Store.
  2. Download Dolphin HD apk from your Silk Browser.
  3. Download Adobe Flash Plugin from your Silk Browser
  4. Open ES File Explorer app and go to Download folder.
  5. Open the Dolphin HD apk file. You will get a prompt to about Application Install Blocked.
  6. Press the Settings button and Allow Installation of Application from unknown sources.
  7. Now hit the back button (or go back to ES File Explorer and click on Dolphin HD apk again).
  8. Next click on Adobe Flash plugin also and open it using Dolphin HD browser and finish installing Flash.
  9. Open Dolphin HD browser app and open your favorite flash website.
Written by imsaar

November 21, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Posted in general

Tagged with , , , , , ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. how about on kindle fire hd 7″

    cjndy

    January 14, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    • Almost too easy. When I was done, I thought, that’s it? That’s all? Thank you for the info, and now I can watch things like NOAA live radar loops. Important things are still using flash, and probably will be for some time. Thanks again for the ability to see this content, that I thought I was cut off from for good. Thank you!

      Richie Squires

      March 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm

  2. This only works in the US. In the UK we cannot download the WE File Explorer

    Amanda

    January 18, 2013 at 10:39 am

  3. What am I doing wrong? I followed these steps and when I try to run something it starts to load then returns to the home screen on my kindle. Any suggestions?

    Jennie

    February 7, 2013 at 10:17 am

  4. Thanks for this post. As a computer challenged person was hesitant to try but I really wanted to be able to use Flash player on my Kindle Fire. These directions were so easy and successful download. Was the result.

    Claire G

    March 24, 2013 at 6:50 am

  5. If you have installation of applications from unknown sources turned on there are about 3 too many steps listed

    DaPope

    April 17, 2013 at 9:06 pm

  6. I did the same folowed the steps some web site that have video ie. ABCNews commercial plays and then sound no pic.

    Gus Longoria

    April 18, 2013 at 1:27 pm

  7. Thank you….Thank you….Thank you!

    ksf

    May 12, 2013 at 1:08 am

  8. I am using Kindle fire hd 7″ and when I try to open the download it tells me it can’t open it. Can someone please help? One of the main reasons I got my daughter a Kindle was so she could play her online games somewhere besides my laptop!

    Lisa

    June 8, 2013 at 5:15 pm

  9. Thank You !
    Worked first time on my K F HD 7″.

    dak

    July 27, 2013 at 11:02 am

  10. Thank you so much! Been trying so hard to get reading eggs for my 4 yr old on her kindle. Her brother has an ipad. We prefer kindle and android so now she can use the full learning to read app like her big brother. She will be thrilled when I show her. Thanks so much. I tried it all! This took me a min. Yay!

    thomay

    December 8, 2013 at 6:10 am


Leave a Reply

